ISU student receives IEA Student of the Year Award


Brittany Archibald, a senior and elementary education major at Illinois State University, has been selected by the Illinois Education Association as the recipient of the Bob Haisman IEA Student of the Year award for 2013.

In making the announcement, IEA President Cinda Klickna cited Archibald’s energy and passion for quality education as essential qualities to the teaching profession.

“Brittany Archibald is a wonderful example of someone who is dedicated to students and to the teaching profession, Klickna said.  “Her knowledge, enthusiasm and passion for professional education are qualities that make her an outstanding student.  She will be a great teacher.”

Archibald has been active in the IEA throughout her college career.  She was a founding member and chair of the Parkland College Student Association before transferring to ISU.  She then served the ISU chapter as chair, heading the organization when it was selected as a national award winner.

Archibald has been active in several initiatives for teacher quality, political action and community outreach.

Archibald was announced as recipient of Student of the Year award at IEA’s Representative Assembly last week in Chicago.